Board of Directors

Board of Directors

2020 Board of Directors Standing (l to r) Bill Sharpe, Joe Pezzini, Abby Taylor-Silva, Nolan Kennedy, Giff Lehman, Elsa Mendoza Jimenez, Ida Lopez Chan, Michael Reid, Loren Steck, Joe Pezzini, Erica Padilla-Chavez, Fred Meurer, Betsey Pearson. Seated (l-r) Jose Luis Alvarado, Betsy Buchalter Adler, Birt Johnson, Jr., Teri Belli, Jan Vanderbilt, Maija West.

The Community Foundation for Monterey County (CFMC) is governed by a volunteer board of directors. These community leaders provide strong stewardship by establishing policy, setting priorities and approving final grant decisions. Members serve three-year terms, and their expertise, diverse perspectives and guidance drive our success.

2020 Board of Directors

  • Birt Johnson, Jr. (Chair) Community Volunteer, former General Manager AT&T
  • Teri Belli (Vice Chair) CPA Owner, tBelli Business Consulting & Advising
  • Jan Vanderbilt, (Treasurer) Vanderbilt Certified Public Accountants
  • Maija West, (Secretary) Law Office of Maija West
  • Betsy Buchalter Adler Trustee and Program Officer, Claire Giannini Fund
  • Jose Luis Alvarado Dean of the College of Education, CSU Monterey Bay
  • Ida Lopez Chan Senior Vice President, Wells Fargo Bank
  • Kirk Gafill President/CFO, Nepenthe/Phoenix Corporation
  • Elsa Mendoza Jimenez Director of Health Services, Monterey County Health Dept.
  • Nolan Kennedy Attorney at Law, Kennedy, Archer & Giffen
  • Giff Lehman Certified Financial Planner, Integris Wealth Management
  • Fred Meurer Owner, Meurer Municipal Consulting
  • Erica Padilla-Chavez CEO, Pajaro Valley Prevention and Student Assistance
  • Betsey Pearson Non Profit Consultant, Retired United Way
  • Joe Pezzini CEO Ocean Mist Farms
  • Michael Reid, Co-founder, Fund for Homeless Women
  • Bill Sharpe Professor of Finance, Emeritus at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business
  • Loren Steck, Entertainment Industry Consultant
  • Abby Taylor-Silva, VP of Policy & Communications, Grower Shipper Association


  • Past Board Chairs

2018 Past Board Chairs Luncheon” Standing (l to r) Kip Hudson, Dick Borda, Craig Johnson, Bob House, Bertie Elliott, Clay Larson, Kevin Cartwright, Greg Chilton, Kurt Gollnick, CFMC President/CEO Dan Baldwin. Seated (l to r) Ann Brown, Ken Peterson, Gail Delorey, Bill Doolittle. Not pictured David Armanasco, Mary Wright, David Benjamin

Past Board Chairs

  • Ken Petersen, 2018
  • Steve McGowan, 2017
  • Greg Chilton, 2016
  • Rick Kennifer, 2015
  • Gail Delorey, 2014
  • Ann Brown, 2013
  • Craig Johnson, 2012
  • Kurt Gollnick, 2011
  • Richard Borda, 2009-2010
  • David Armanasco, 2007-2008
  • Mary Wright, 2005-2006
  • Kevin Cartwright, 2004
  • Robert House, 2002-2003
  • Kip Hudson, 2000-2001
  • Lewis Fenton, 1999
  • David Benjamin, 1997-1998
  • Clay C. Larson, 1996
  • Basil Mills, 1995
  • William Doolittle, 1993-1994
  • Roberta Bialek, 1990-1992
  • Wilfrid A. Daly, 1989
  • Kenneth Ehrman, 1988
  • Sydney P. Harrison, 1986-1987
  • Joseph A. Lee, 1984-1985
  • Peter Wright, 1981-1983

Monterey Peninsula Foundation*

  • Stoddard Johnston, 1980
  • Ruth Fenton, 1979
  • Howard Bucquet 1977-1978
  • Will Shaw
  • Jean Thomas
  • James vanLobenSels
  • Mrs. Henry Russell
  • Charles Kramer
  • Margaret Jacks
  • Col. Allen Griffin

*Name prior to 1981